Golden Globes: The Power of the Dog and Succession win at celebrity-free ceremony | Golden Globes 2022

The power of the dog and succession were the big winners of some unusual and simple Golden Globes.

Traditionally, the ceremony is a glitzy broadcast with the attendance of A-listers, but after a year of controversies around diversity and amoral practices, the Hollywood Foreign Press Association lost its position in the industry, and the firms Advertising, studios and celebrities chose to distance themselves.

Sunday night’s event was held at the Beverly Hilton hotel in Los Angeles, with no stars or audience, and only select members and recipients. The results were announced through social media.

The acclaimed Netflix drama The Power of the Dog was named best film – drama, while Jane Campion became the third woman to win the award for best director. Kodi Smit-McPhee also won the best supporting actor award for his performance in the film.

Will Smith was named best actor in a drama by King Richard, while Nicole Kidman won the award for best actress in a drama for playing Lucille Ball in Being the Ricardos. It was Kidman’s fourth win of 16 nominations.

Steven Spielberg’s acclaimed remake West Side Story dominated the musical / comedy categories, winning best picture, best actress for Rachel Zegler and best supporting actress for Ariana DeBose. Andrew Garfield was also named Best Actor in a Musical or Comedy for Tick, Tick… ​​Boom!

On the television side, the hit HBO drama Succession garnered awards for best drama, best actor for Jeremy Strong, and best supporting actress for Sarah Snook. The network also saw freshman series Hacks named best comedy and its star Jean Smart won best actress in a comedy series. Jason Sudeikis was named Best Actor in a Comedy by Ted Lasso, while O Yeong-Su won Best Supporting Actor for Netflix’s smash hit Squid Game.

Jeremy Strong, winner of the Golden Globe in succession. Photograph: Graeme Hunter / AP

MJ Rodríguez became the first trans woman to win the award for best actress in a drama series for Pose. “This is the door that is going to open the door to many more talented young people,” he wrote on Instagram. “They will see that it is more than possible.”

Kate Winslet was named Best Actress in a Limited Series for the critically acclaimed crime drama Mare of Easttown, while Michael Keaton was named Best Actor in a Limited Series for Hulu’s opioid drama Dopesick. Barry Jenkins’ period drama The Underground Railroad also won best limited series.

Other winners were Japan’s Drive My Car for Best Non-English Film, Enchantment for Best Animated Film, Kenneth Branagh’s Belfast for Best Screenplay, No Time to Die for Best Original Song, and Dune for Best Original Soundtrack.

Staff members representing various non-profit organizations supported by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association were on hand to announce the winners. Arnold Schwarzenegger and Jamie Lee Curtis appeared on video to discuss the HFPA’s philanthropic efforts. “I am proud to be associated with them in this endeavor,” said Curtis, while Schwarzenegger praised the organization’s support from various voices.

The event required proof of vaccination and a negative PCR test. Attendees were also required to be masked and socially estranged at all times.

After a series of exposures by the Los Angeles Times that revealed a lack of diversity in the HFPA’s voting membership and a series of “ethical lapses,” the last 12 months have seen high-profile actors like Tom Cruise and Scarlett Johansson will speak out against the association, as well as NBC’s decision not to rebroadcast this year’s ceremony.

Attempted repair work has included the “revision” of previously restrictive bylaws, implementation of changes regarding the code of conduct and ethical practices, and the addition of a diverse set of 21 new members.

“Last year, the Hollywood Foreign Press Association was challenged to change, and we did,” said Helen Hoehne, its president. “Both internally, within the Association, as well as adding 21 members to bring new perspectives.

“We are on a journey of change and we are not going to rest. We are going to be frank about what we are learning and challenge others to join us. “

Kyle Bowser, Senior Vice President of the NAACP Hollywood Bureau, spoke of a five-year joint initiative to increase diversity, equity and inclusion. “Imagination is the currency that sustains and drives the entertainment industries,” he said during the ceremony.

Last year’s televised ceremony saw a catastrophic 60% drop in viewership.

Sunday’s Critics Choice Awards were expected to act as an unofficial replacement, with celebrity attendance and a televised ceremony, but the event was postponed as a result of a spike in Covid-19 cases.

This year’s Oscar nominations will be announced on February 8 and the ceremony will take place on March 27.

Leave a Comment